Sunrise on Lake Huron

There are one hundred and twenty-three 

Billowing swabs of water vapor and nothing

Crowded on the horizon this morning.

Up and up, layer on layer,

In full generosity,

They rise out from the flaming, yielding mirror,

Which held them all night.

They are ascending. 

By their very nature,

They climb the sky.

Carrying some small, seraphic secret,

Which makes them lighter than my existence.

They teem among one another.

These ever-changing, loamy continents.

Melding themselves into allegiance with one another,

And just as easily,

Divorcing themselves. 

I am drawn from moment to moment by the

Fireworks display of colors,

As the finale works its way up toward Earth’s crust.

And then I see it.

 A perfect halo of lambent light aspiring from beyond the rim. 

And I can sense myself coiling, my being flexing,

For this unused, age-old climax.

And just like that,

Time gives birth 

To a New Day.

And it is so

Discreetly brilliant-

This Perpetuum,

This cycle of continuance-

That all Creation breathes out this deathless moment.

And destruction and chaos are briefly omitted out of wonder.

Taken,

I forget to stare away from the blaze. 

After it’s all over, 

And life has resumed its hustling, 

All I have left of it’s impression on me 

Are the specks of refracted light,

Still burned into my vision,

And a path of white-yellow-gold,

Which extends from the end of the world,

Along that tumult of leaping, blue glass,

Toward the beach. 

To my feet.

-Lauren White

Leave a comment